Back to the list

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Bergen - Norway

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Bergen

The Department of Earth Science was created on the 1st. of January 2003 by fusion of the Department of Geology and the Department of Solid Earth Geophysics. The department has a scientific staff of 44 and a technical and administrative staff of 35. The department employs 50 Ph.D. students and post-docs in connection with specific research projects. Around 90 students are engaged in the various M.Sc. programmes at the department.

Research is carried out within 5 thematic groups:

  • Geodynamics
  • Quaternary geology and palĉoclimate
  • Marine geology and geophysics
  • Petroleum geoscience
  • Geomicrobiology (jointly with Dept. of Biology)

Two centres of excellence, The Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research and The Centre for Integrated Petroleum Research, are closely associated with the department.